

The City Council

Date: Wednesday 19 May 2010

Time: 10.00am

Venue: The Council Chamber, Level 3, Town Hall Extension

Albert Square, Manchester.

Membership of the Council

Councillors -

Akbar, Ali, Amesbury, Andrews, Ankers, Ashley, Barnes, Barrett, J. Battle, R. Battle, Bethell, Bhatti, Boyes, Bracegirdle, Burns, Cameron, Carmody, Chamberlain, Chohan, Chowdhury, Clayton, Commons, Cooley, Cooper, Cox, Curley, Dobson, Donaldson, Eakins, Evans, Fairweather, Fender, H. Fisher, W. Fisher, Firth, Flanagan, Glover, Grant, Green, Hackett, Hassan, Helsby, Hennigan, Hitchen, Jones, Judge, Karney, Keegan, Keller, Khan, Kirkpatrick, Leese, Lewis, Lomax, Longsden, Loughman, Lyons, di Mauro, McCulley, Morrison, M. Murphy, N. Murphy, P. Murphy, S. Murphy, E. Newman, S. Newman, O'Callaghan, O'Connor, Barbara O'Neil, Brian O'Neil, Pagel, Pearcey, Priest, Pritchard, Rahman, Ramsbottom, Reeves, Reid, Richards, Royle, Ryan, Sandiford, Shannon, Shaw, Siddiqi, Smith, Smitheman, Swannick, Tavernor, Taylor, Trotman, Walters, Watson, Wheale, Whitmore and Lianne Williams.

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester-

Gordon Conquest; William Egerton JP; Kenneth Franklin; Audrey Jones JP; Dame Kathleen Ollerenshaw and John Smith.

Agenda

1. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester.

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2010/2011 Municipal Year.

2. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor.

3. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2010/2011 Municipal Year.

- 4. Special Business to be introduced by the Lord Mayor.
- 5. **Minutes** to submit for approval and signature the Minutes of the meeting held on 24th March 2010.

6. Election of councillors

To note the election of the following councillors at the election held on 6th May 2010 -

Ward	
Ancoats and Clayton	Jim Battle
Ardwick	Mavis Smitheman
Baguley	Eddie McCulley
Bradford	John Longsden
Brooklands	Sue Murphy
Burnage	Bill Fisher
Charlestown	Veronica Kirkpatrick
Cheetham	Naeem Hassan
Chorlton	Victor Chamberlain
Chorlton Park	Norman Lewis
City Centre	Elaine Boyes
Crumpsall	Jon-Leigh Pritchard
Didsbury East	Andrew Taylor
Didsbury West	Mark Clayton
Fallowfield	Mike Amesbury
Gorton North	Nilofar Siddiqi
Gorton South	Julie Reid
Harpurhey	Paul Fairweather
Higher Blackley	Anna Trotman
Hulme	Nigel Murphy
Levenshulme	James Hennigan
Longsight	Suzanne Richards
Moss Side	Roy Walters
Moston	Rita Tavernor
Miles Platting and Newton Heath	John Flanagan
Northenden	Mary di Mauro
Old Moat	Suzanna Reeves

Rusholme	Rabnawaz Akbar
Sharston	Hugh Barrett
Whalley Range	Mary Watson
Withington	Simon Wheale
Woodhouse Park	Edward Newman

7. Seniority of councillors

To note the statement of the City Solicitor as to the seniority of members of the Council.

8. Election of the Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

[It should be noted that the Leader's term of office will expire on the day when the Council holds its first Annual Meeting after the Leader's normal day of retirement as a councillor]

9. Appointment of the Deputy Leader and the Executive

To receive, if available, a report by the Leader as to the appointment of a Deputy Leader and other members of the Executive, and their portfolios.

10. Appointment of committees and chairs

To approve the appointment of chairs and members of the following Committees –

Art Galleries Committee Audit Committee

Employee Appeals Committee Licensing and Appeals Committee

Licensing Committee Licensing Policy Committee

Planning and Highways Committee Personnel Committee

Standards Committee Wythenshawe Area Committee

Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee Citizenship and Inclusion Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Communities and Neighbourhoods Overview and Scrutiny Committee Economy, Employment and Skills Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Health and Well-being Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Resources and Governance Overview and Scrutiny Committee

11. Appointments to joint authorities/joint committees

To approve appointment of representatives to Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

12. Questions under Procedural Rule 23.

13. Annual Report of Overview and Scrutiny Committees

To receive the Annual Report.

14. Proceedings of committees

To approve and receive the Minutes of the following Committees -

^{*} see tabled recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee

^{*} see tabled recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee

Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 18th May 2010 Planning and Highways Committee – 8th April 2010 Wythenshawe Area Committee – 25th March 2010

15. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the City Council in the 2010/2011 Municipal Year, as follows -

14 July 2010 13 October 2010 9 December 2010 2 February 2011 9 March 2011 (Budget meeting) 30 March 2011

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2011 will be on 18th May 2011.

16. Council Constitution 2010/2011

To consider a report of the City Solicitor. (TO FOLLOW)

17. Business of the joint authorities and joint committees

To receive answers to any questions raised in accordance with Procedural Rule 24 on the business of (a) Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Authority (b) Greater Manchester Integrated Transport Authority (c) Greater Manchester Police Authority, and (d) Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority.

18. **Key Decisions exempted from call-in**

(Report of City SolicItor)

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

6 individuals with previous long service as councillors of the City have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

Councillors undertake to follow a code of ethical conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. A Standards Committee is established to train and provide guidance to them on the code of conduct.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each Municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies, initiate parliamentary bills to support local Acts, and set the Council budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Town Hall, Albert Square Manchester M60 2LA

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting contact Roger Fielding

Tel: 0161 234 3042 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: r.fielding@amanchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **11 May 2010** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert Square, Manchester M60 2LA