Statement for Information

City Council: 19th May 2010

Subject: Order of Seniority of Members of the Council

Author: City Solicitor

Seniority by virtue of Office
The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor
The Deputy Lord Mayor
The Leader of the Council
The Leader of the Opposition
Seniority by virtue of length of service
Hugh Barrett *
Tony Burns
Patrick Karney
Keith Whitmore
Peter Morrison
Richard Leese
Alison Firth
Kenneth Barnes
Basil Curley
David Sandiford
Nilofar Siddiqi
John Commons
Andrew Fender
Mark Hackett
Martin Pagel
Jacqueline Pearcey
Joyce Keller
Henry Cooper
Simon Wheale
Simon Ashley
Iain Donaldson
Paul Murphy
Eddy Newman
Thomas O'Callaghan
Wendy Helsby
Sheila Newman
Glynn Evans
David Royle
Brian O'Neil
Susan Murphy
Harold Lyons

Susan Cooley
Paul Andrews
Marc Ramsbottom
Jeff Smith
Mary Murphy
Ken Dobson
Mark Clayton
Neil Swannick
Roy Walters
Bernard Priest
Joanne Green
Mavis Smitheman
Anna Trotman
Mike Carmody
James Battle
Afzal Khan
Paul Shannon
Damien O'Connor
John Flanagan
Edward McCulley
Sandra Bracegirdle
Tom Judge
Mick Loughman
Alistair Cox
June Hitchen
Helen Fisher
Brendan Jones
Paul Fairweather
John Grant
Con Keegan
John Cameron
John Longsden
Graham Shaw
Norman Lewis
Tony Bethell
Faraz Bhatti
Barbara O'Neil
Abu Chowdhury
Abid Chohan
Jon-Leigh Pritchard
Elaine Boyes
Mary Watson
Mike Amesbury
Naeem Ul-Hassan
Nigel Murphy
Charles Glover
Rosa Battle
Sameem Ali

Paul Ankers
Veronica Kirkpatrick
Martin Eakins
Emily Lomax
Luthfer Rahman
Bernie Ryan
Lianne Williams
Rita Tavernor
Suzannah Reeves**
Victor Chamberlain**
Rabnawaz Akbar**
Suzanne Richards**
Bill Fisher**
Julie Reid**
Mary di Mauro**
Andrew Taylor**
James Hennigan**

Note

- * Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the City Council, with the exception of Councillor Barrett who's service prior to 1st April 1974 with the former Manchester Corporation has also been aggregated.
- ** The seniority of these members, without previous service as councilors for the City of Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 10th May 2010,