Manchester City Council

Manchester's thoughts and sympathies

Manchester is sharing its sympathy with the family and friends of Labour MP and Father of The House of Commons Sir Gerald Kaufman who passed away aged 86.

Sign the online Book of condolence.

×

The Council & democracy The Members of the Executive

The Executive Members in 2016 / 17

The Executive is the main decision making body of the Council, responsible for implementing the budgetary and policy framework of the Council.  Each of the 9 members also has individual special responsibility for a particular area of the Council's services and policies.

Questions to The Members of the Executive


Councillor Richard Leese

Leader of the Council
Sir Richard Leese

Email the Leader: r.leese@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Devolution
- Digital Economy (Business Development)
- Economic Development
- External Relationships
- Legal Services
- Overall Policy Coordination
- Public Services Reform
- Support on Regeneration (North Manchester)

The Leader's Blog

Secretarial Support:  Tracy Kiely - 0161 234 3711
t.kiely@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor sue murphy

Statutory Deputy Leader of the Council
Councillor Sue Murphy

Email the Deputy Leader:  cllr.s.murphy@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Behaviour Change
- Equalities
- Inclusion including Family Poverty
- International
- Public Services Reform (Worklessness)
- Support on Regeneration (South Manchester & Wythenshawe)
- Voluntary Sector 

PA Support:  Lisa Booth - 0161 234 3345
l.booth@manchester.gov.uk


Cllr Bernard Priest

Deputy Leader
Councillor Bernard Priest

Email the Deputy Leader:  cllr.b.priest@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Communications
- Community Engagement
- Corporate Property
- Housing & Regeneration (inc. Skills)
- Ward Co-ordination
- Wellbeing

PA Support: Teresa McKeon - 0161 234 3311
t.mckeon@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Paul Andrews

Executive Member for Adult Health and Wellbeing
Councillor Paul Andrews

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.p.andrews@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Adult Social Care
- Health
- Public Services Reform - Health & Social Care
- Public Services Reform-Troubled Families (with Children's Services)
- Supporting People

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Yasmine Dar
PA Support:  Janet Schofield - 0161 234 3003
j.schofield@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor sheila newman

Executive Member for Children's Services
Councillor Sheila Newman

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.s.newman@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- 14-19
- Children & Families
- Lead Member Under Section 19 of the Children's Act 2004
- Overall responsibility for all matters affecting Children & Young People (Every Child Matters)
- Public Services Reform (Early Years)
- Schools 

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Garry Bridges
PA Support:  Sharon McCombe - 0161 234 4706
s.mccombe@manchester.gov.uk



Councillor luthfur rahman
Executive Member for Culture & Leisure
Councillor Luthfur Rahman

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.l.rahman@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Cultural Strategy
- Events
- External Arts/Sports Bodies
- Galleries & Museums
- Indoor/Outdoor Leisure
- Libraries
- Markets & Hospitality & Traded Services  
- Sport & Sport Development
- Youth Offer

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Ollie Manco
PA Support: 0161 234 4900


Councillor John Flanagan
Executive Member for Finance & Human Resources
Councillor John Flanagan

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.j.flanagan@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Budget
- Capital Programme
- Council Tax & Benefits
- Human Resources
- ICT
- Resource Procurement
- Performance

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Angeliki Stogia
PA Support:  Tina Howard-Bryning - 0161 234 3328
t.howard-bryning@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Nigel Murphy

Executive Member for Neighbourhood Services
Councillor Nigel Murphy

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.n.murphy@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Crime & Community Safety
- Licensing Policy
- Neighbourhood Management including Waste Strategy & Collection
- Maintenance of Parks, Cemeteries & Allotments
- Management of Physical Environment & Environmental Services
- Public Service Reform - Reforming Justice


Assistant Executive Member: Councillor Emily Rowles
PA Support: Janet Schofield - 0161 234 3003
j.schofield@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor rosa battle

Executive Member for Environment
Councillor Rosa Battle

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.r.battle@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Food Futures
- Green issues and Climate Change
- Manchester Contracts & Parking
- Planning Policy
- Transport Policy including Highways

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Rabnawaz Akbar
PA Support:  Tina Howard-Bryning - 0161 234 3328
t.howard-bryning@manchester.gov.uk


Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?