Manchester City Council

Councillor Sheila Newman

Our sympathies are with the family and friends of Councillor Sheila Newman, Executive Member for Children’s Services and current Lady Mayoress of Manchester, who passed away on Sunday.

Read our tribute.


The Council & democracy Employee Appeals Committee

Employee Appeals Committee membership

The Panels are made up of three councillors who meet to determine appeals against dismissal made by employees of Manchester City Council.

Committee Membership: -

A Panel is made up of: 

An Executive Member with the relevant portfolio (i.e. Executive Member for the service in which the employee was working or the Executive Member with a portfolio relevant to the specific subject area of the appeal) or an appropriate Assistant Executive Member. 

Two members drawn from the Council’s Executive Members or their Assistant Executive Member, or from a prescribed ‘pool’ of councillors; the nominated members are -

  • Cllr Emily Rowles
  • Cllr Angeliki Stogia
  • Cllr Rabnawaz Akbar
  • Cllr Garry Bridges
  • Cllr Yasmine Dar
  • Cllr Bernard Stone
  • Cllr Chris Paul
  • Cllr Glynn Evans
  • Cllr Julie Reid
  • Cllr Matt Strong
  • Cllr Tracey Rawlins
  • Cllr Carl Ollerhead
  • Cllr Nasrin Ali
  • Cllr Carmine Grimshaw
  • Cllr Mary Watson

Meeting Dates: -

Employee appeals are arranged on an ad hoc basis at the request of the Chair.

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?