Manchester City Council

Parliamentary general election 2001

  1. Results

    Manchester Blackley Constituency

    Electorate 59,111 Turnout: 45%

    WARDS: Blackley, Charlestown, Cheetham, Crumpsall, Harpurhey, Lightbowne, Moston

    BARR Kenneth G H Socialist Labour Party 485
    BHATTI Aziz A Anti Corruption Forum 456
    REISSMANN Karen J    Socialist Alliance
    RIDING Gary A Liberal Democrat 3015
    STANBURY, Lance G The Conservative Party Candidate 3821
    STRINGER Graham The Labour Party Candidate 18285

    Manchester Central Constituency

    Electorate 66,268 Turnout: 39.3%

    WARDS: Ardwick, Beswick/Clayton, Bradford, Central, Hulme, Moss Side, Newton Heath, Whalley Range

    BROSNAN Terreina M Prolife Alliance 216
    HALL Vanessa Green Party 1018
    HOBSON, Phylip A D Liberal Democrats 4070
    LLOYD Anthony J The Labour Party Candidate 17812
    POWELL Aaron J The Conservative Party Candidate 2328
    SINCLAIR Ronald Socialist Labour Party, Leader Arthur Scargill 484

    Manchester Gorton Constituency

    Electorate 63,834 Turnout: 42.8%

    WARDS: Fallowfield, Gorton North, Gorton South, Levenshulme, Longsight, Rusholme

    Candidate Party Votes
    BHATTI Rashid A United Kingdom Independence Party 462
    BINGHAM Bruce S Green Party 835
    CAUSER Christopher G The Conservative Party Candidate 2705
    KAUFMAN Gerald B The Labour Party Candidate 17099
    MUIR Kirsty Socialist Labour Party 333
    PEARCEY Jacqueline Liberal Democrats 5795

    Manchester Withington Constituency

    Electorate 67,480 Turnout: 52%

    WARDS: Barlow Moor, Burnage, Chorlton, Didsbury, Old Moat, Withington

    Candidate Party Votes
    BRADLEY Keith J C The Labour Party Candidate 19239
    CLEGG John A Socialist Alliance 1208
    SAMWAYS Julian P E The Conservative Party Candidate 5349
    VALENTINE Michelle Green Party Candidate 1539
    ZALZALA Yasmin Liberal Democrat 7715

    Manchester Wythenshawe and Sale East Constituency

    Electorate 72,127 Turnout: 48.7%

    WARDS: Baguley, Benchill, Brooklands, Northenden, Sharston, Woodhouse Park, Trafford: Brooklands, Priory, Sale Moor

    Candidate Party Votes
    CROOKES Lance David Green Party 869
    FILDES Susan F M The Conservative Party Candidate 8424
    GOGGINS Paul G The Labour Party Candidate 21032
    SHAW Fredrick B Socialist Labour Party, Leader Arthur Scargill 410
    TUCKER Vanessa M
     Liberal Democrat

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?