

New Parliamentary constituencies

Key information in preparation for the next UK Parliamentary election

The next UK Parliamentary election must be held no later than January 2025. Owing to changes in population, the Boundary Commission has determined new Parliamentary constituencies in Manchester. The next general election will take place using these new boundaries under the 'first past the post' electoral system.

Calling an election

The governing party, through the Prime Minister, has the authority to set the date of the next UK Parliamentary election by 'dissolving' (closing) the current Parliament at its discretion.

The final date that the UK Parliament can be dissolved is 17 December 2024. Polling day takes place no later than 25 days after the dissolution of Parliament.

There are 650 constituencies in the UK and each of these will have an election using the 'first past the post' system, where the candidate with the most votes cast is elected. These new constituencies only come into place when the election is called by the present UK Government.

The new constituencies

The Boundary Commission for England sets the boundaries of Parliamentary constituencies with the aim of each 'seat' having a similar number of voters within it.

Four of the six new constituencies that will come into place at the election in Manchester are cross-boundary with an adjoining local authority (noted in brackets in the list below).

The new constituencies in Manchester are:

- Blackley and Middleton South (with Rochdale)
- Gorton and Denton (with Tameside)
- Manchester Central (with Oldham)
- Manchester Rusholme
- Manchester Withington
- Wythenshawe and Sale East (with Trafford)

A map of Manchester's 32 Council wards and the constituencies they are allocated to is found on page three of this fact sheet.

Useful information

A UK Parliamentary election will take place with much shorter notice than other elections, where dates are set well beforehand. As registration can take time, we encourage you to do the following:

- Register for the election now at https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote
- If you would prefer to vote by post, contact the Electoral Services Unit: Phone o161 234 1212 or email us on: esu@manchester.gov.uk
- If you do not have the correct photo ID, register for a Voter Authority Certificate (VAC) at https://www.gov.uk/apply-for-photo-id-voter-authority-certificate
- If you are an overseas voter and would like to vote, register now using the details above, or contact the Electoral Services Unit.

Details about the election

The Electoral Commission provide full details about how to stand at an election, the process for getting enough nominations to stand, appointing an election agent, election spending and donations, and the official rules around the election campaign.

These details can be found at: https://www.electoralcommission.org. uk/i-am-a/candidate-or-agent/uk-parliamentary-general-election-great-britain

For information on the Boundary Review and details of the Manchester constituencies go to this website: https://boundarycommissionforengland. independent.gov.uk/

If you have any queries on electoral registration or standing at the election, please ring the Elections Team on **0161 234 1212**, or email **esu@manchester.gov.uk**.

Constituencies and wards in Manchester:

Blackley and Middleton South:

- Charlestown
- Crumpsall
- Harpurhey
- Higher Blackley
- Moston
- East Middleton (Take in from Rochdale)
- South Middleton (Take in from Rochdale)

Manchester Central:

- Ancoats and Beswick
- Cheetham
- Clayton and Openshaw
- Deansgate
- Miles Platting and Newton Heath
- Piccadilly
- Failsworth East (Take in from Oldham)
- Failsworth West (Take in from Oldham)

Gorton and Denton:

- Burnage
- Gorton and Abbey Hey
- Levenshulme
- Longsight
- Denton North East (Take in from Tameside)
- Denton South (Take in from Tameside)
- Denton West (Take in from Tameside)

Manchester Rusholme:

- Ardwick
- Fallowfield
- Hulme
- Moss Side
- Rusholme
- Whalley Range

Manchester Withington:

- Chorlton
- Chorlton Park
- Didsbury East
- Didsbury West
- Old Moat
- Withington

Wythenshawe and Sale East:

- Baguley
- Brooklands
- Northenden
- Sharston
- Woodhouse Park
- Brooklands (Take in from Trafford)
- Prior (Take in from Trafford)
- Sale Central (Take in from Trafford)