Manchester City Council

Consultations & surveys Consultation on polling districts and polling places

Changes to council ward boundaries

Manchester’s wards are the areas we elect our councillors to represent. During 2016/17, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), an independent body, did an electoral review of Manchester.

They decided Manchester should continue to have 96 councillors representing 32 wards (three councillors per ward). However, there are changes to current ward boundaries and a number of wards will have new names. This is not a consultation on those changes.

See the LGBCE’s final recommendations on their website.

The new boundaries come into effect at the local elections on 3 May 2018.

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?