Manchester City Council

The Council & democracy News - December issue

Manchester's King and Queen Bees hailed at the Be Proud Awards 2017

Manchester’s community heroes were feted for their determination to make the city a better place at the annual Be Proud Awards ceremony.

The ceremony at Manchester Town Hall hailed people who have made an outstanding contribution to Manchester and improved people's lives through their pride in what they do.

Awards were presented in categories such as Community Project of the Year, Neighbour of the Year, and Young Achiever of the Year.

This year, a special category was included to honour those who helped local communities to pull through in the wake of the Manchester Arena attack.

Four Special Recognition awards were given to people and organisations that bravely helped the casualties in the immediate aftermath of the attack. These award recipients were:

·     Doctors Matthew Burrows, David Dolan and Vyki Wijeratne

·     Emergency Training Ltd

·     Platform staff at Manchester Victoria station

·     Showsec Ltd.

Special recognition awards were also given to three more people and organisations who sought to support those who were affected by the attack, helping to bring communities together in the subsequent hours, days and weeks. These recipients were:

·     Beth Clarke

·     Nicholas Franklin

·     Khizra Masjid mosque.

Executive Member for Neighbourhoods, Councillor Nigel Murphy, said: “Whether it was through demonstrating incredible courage by helping those in need at the scene of the attack, or by showing exemplary compassion for those affected in its aftermath, these people truly represent the best of Manchester, and the awards underline our gratitude for their remarkable response in the city's hour of need."

Following a gala dinner, the winners of 12 more Be Proud awards were announced:

Blossoming Communities – Heather Stemp

Bringing Communities Together – Shaneil Hodges

Business in the Community – Mylo Kaye

Clean Neighbourhood – The Whalley Rangers

Community Force – Yes Manchester

Community Project of the Year – Miners Community Arts and Music Centre (also named ‘The Pride of Manchester’)

Creativity in the Community – On Top of the World Project

Neighbour of the Year – Sally Casey

Recycling Project of the Year – Manchester and Trafford School Uniform Swap

Young Achiever of the Year – Wythenshawe Youth Forum

Volunteer of the Year

·     Keleef Pearson (Outstanding individual)

·     Grand Day Out (Outstanding group).

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?