Manchester City Council

Telephone problems

There are issues with some mobile networks reaching our contact centre, we are working with the networks to fix this. If you are affected, please retry. There are no issues with land lines.


The Council & democracy The Members of the Executive

The Executive Members in 2015 / 16

The Executive is the main decision making body of the Council, responsible for implementing the budgetary and policy framework of the Council.  Each of the 9 members also has individual special responsibility for a particular area of the Council's services and policies.

Questions to The Members of the Executive

Councillor Richard Leese

Leader of the Council
Sir Richard Leese

Email the Leader:

Leads on:

- Devolution
- Digital Economy (Business Development)
- Economic Development
- External Relationships
- Legal Services
- Overall Policy Coordination
- Public Services Reform  
- Support on Regeneration (North Manchester)

The Leader's Blog

Secretarial Support: Deborah Dua - 0161 234 3711

Councillor Sue Murphy

Statutory Deputy Leader of the Council
Councillor Sue Murphy

Email the Deputy Leader:

Leads on:

- Behaviour Change
- Equalities
- Inclusion including Family Poverty
- International
- Public Services Reform (Worklessness)
- Support on Regeneration (South Manchester & Wythenshawe)
- Voluntary Sector 

PA Support:  Lisa Booth - 0161 234 3345

Cllr Bernard Priest

Deputy Leader
Councillor Bernard Priest

Email the Deputy Leader:

Leads on:

- Communications
- Community Engagement
- Corporate Property
- Housing & Regeneration (inc. Skills)
- Ward Co-ordination
- Wellbeing

PA Support: Teresa McKeon - 0161 234 3311

Councillor Paul Andrews

Executive Member for Adult Health and Wellbeing
Councillor Paul Andrews

Email the Executive Member:

Leads on:

- Adult Social Care
- Health
- Public Services Reform - Health & Social Care
- Public Services Reform-Troubled Families (with Children's Services)
- Supporting People

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Emily Rowles
PA Support:  Michelle Duckett - 0161 234 3344  


Cllr Newman

Executive Member for Children's Services
Councillor Sheila Newman

Email the Executive Member:

Leads on:

- 14-19
- Children & Families
- Lead Member Under Section 19 of the Children's Act 2004
- Overall responsibility for all matters affecting Children & Young People (Every Child Matters)
- Public Services Reform (Early Years)

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Rabnawaz Akbar
PA Support:  Sharon McCombe - 0161 234 4706

 Councillor Rosa Battle
Executive Member for Culture & Leisure
Councillor Rosa Battle

Email the Executive Member:

Leads on:

- Cultural Strategy
- Events
- External Arts/Sports Bodies
- Galleries & Museums
- Indoor/Outdoor Leisure
- Libraries
- Markets & Hospitality & Traded Services
- Schools
- Sport & Sport Development
- Youth Offer

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Angeliki Stogia
PA Support: Tina Howard-Bryning - 0161 234 3328

Cllr Kate Chappell

Executive Member for Environment
Councillor Kate Chappell

Email the Executive Member:

Leads on:

- Food Futures
- Green issues and Climate Change
- Manchester Contracts & Parking
- Planning Policy
- Transport Policy including Highways

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Ollie Manco
PA Support: Janet Schofield - 0161 234 3003

 Councillor John Flanagan
Executive Member for Finance & Human Resources
Councillor John Flanagan

Email the Executive Member:

Leads on:

- Budget
- Capital Programme
- Council Tax & Benefits
- Human Resources
- Resource Procurement
- Performance

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Luthfur Rahman

Councillor Nigel Murphy


Executive Member for Neighbourhood Services
Councillor Nigel Murphy

Email the Executive Member:

Leads on:

- Crime & Community Safety
- Licensing Policy
- Neighbourhood Management including Waste Strategy & Collection
- Maintenance of Parks, Cemeteries & Allotments
- Management of Physical Environment & Environmental Services
- Public Service Reform - Reforming Justice

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Yasmine Dar
PA Support: Michelle Duckett - 0161 234 3344




Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?