Manchester City Council

The Council & democracy The Members of the Executive

The Executive Members in 2013 / 14

The Executive is the main decision making body of the Council, responsible for implementing the budgetary and policy framework of the Council.  Each of the 9 members also has individual special responsibility for a particular area of the Council's services and policies.

Questions to The Members of the Executive


Councillor Richard Leese

Leader of the Council
Sir Richard Leese

Email the Leader:  r.leese@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Overall Policy Coordination
- Economic Development
- External Relationships
- Public Services Reform
- Support on Regeneration (North Manchester)
- Legal Services

The Leader's Blog

Secretarial Support: Deborah Dua - 0161 234 3711
d.dua@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Sue Murphy

Statutory Deputy Leader of the Council
Councillor Sue Murphy

Email the Deputy Leader:  cllr.s.murphy@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Inclusion including Family Poverty
- Equalities
- Voluntary Sector
- Employment & Skills including 16-24
- Regeneration (South Manchester & Wythenshawe)
- Public Services Reform - Worklessness

PA Support: Paula Crosby - 0161 234 3344
p.crosby@manchester.gov.uk


Cllr Bernard Priest

Deputy Leader
Councillor Bernard Priest

Email the Deputy Leader:  cllr.b.priest@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Neighbourhood Management including Waste Strategy & Collection
- Management of Physical Environment & Environmental Services
- Crime & Community Safety
- Public Services Reform-Reforming Justice
- Behaviour Change
- Maintenance of Parks
- Cemeteries & Allotments

PA Support: Teresa McKeon - 0161 234 3311
t.mckeon@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Paul Andrews

Executive Member for Adult Health and Wellbeing
Councillor Paul Andrews

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.p.andrews@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Adult Social Care
- Health
- Supporting People
- Public Services Reform-Health & Social Care
- Public Services Reform-Troubled Families (with Children's Services)

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Amina Lone
PA Support: Teresa McKeon - 0161 234 3311
t.mckeon@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Rosa Battle

Executive Member for Culture & Leisure
Councillor Rosa Battle

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.r.battle@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Cultural Strategy
- Galleries & Museums
- Libraries
- Sport & Sport Development
- External Arts/Sports Bodies
- Indoor/Outdoor Leisure
- Youth Offer
- Events
- Markets & Hospitality & Trading Services

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Suzannah Reeves
PA Support: Tina Howard-Bryning - 0161 234 3328
t.howard-bryning@manchester.gov.uk


Cllr Newman

Executive Member for Children's Services
Councillor Sheila Newman

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.s.newman@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Schools
- Public Services Reform
- Early Years
- 14-19
- Children & Families
- Overall responsibility for all matters affecting Children & Young People (Every Child Matters)
- Lead Member Under Section 19 of the Children's Act 2004

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Ian Hyde
PA Support: Sharon McCombe & Lisa Booth (Job-Share) - 0161 234 3345
s.mccombe@manchester.gov.uk & l.booth@manchester.gov.uk


Cllr Kate Chappell

Executive Member for Environment
Councillor Kate Chappell

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.k.chappell@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Green issues and Climate Change
- Transport Policy including Highways
- Manchester Contracts & Parking
- Planning & Licensing Policy

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Luthfur Rahman

PA Support: Janet Schofield - 0161 234 3003
j.schofield@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Nigel Joseph Murphy

Executive Member for Housing & Regeneration
Councillor Nigel Murphy

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.n.murphy@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Housing & Regeneration
- Ward Coordination
- Wellbeing
- Digital Manchester
- Information Technology
- Communications

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Bev Craig
PA Support: Janet Schofield - 0161 234 3003
j.schofield@manchester.gov.uk


Councillor Jeff Smith

Councillor Jeff Smith
Executive Member for Finance & Human Resources
Councillor Jeff Smith

Email the Executive Member:  cllr.j.smith@manchester.gov.uk

Leads on:

- Budget
- Council Tax & Benefits
- Resource Procurement
- Human Resources
- Performance
- Capital Programme & Corporate Property

Assistant Executive Member:  Councillor Rabnawaz Akbar
PA Support: Moiré Walker - 0161 234 4706
m.walker1@manchester.gov.uk


Was this information helpful?

Was this page helpful?