Manchester City Council

The Council & democracy Be Proud Awards

Awards update

The Be Proud Awards exist to celebrate our swarms of volunteers and the unsung heroes that make 'Our Manchester' great. We know that these individuals and groups make a real difference in our communities, and we also know that some of them don’t even realise how much good they do! But their work really helps improve our neighbourhoods, and the Be Proud Awards give us the chance to show them how much their efforts are appreciated.

At a glittering gala dinner and awards ceremony in Manchester Town Hall’s Great Hall, the winners of the Be Proud Awards 2017 were announced to an audience of finalists, nominators and sponsors. The winners were as follows:

Special Recognition Award 2017

All seven of the finalists in this category were awarded trophies, as equal winners:

Emergency Training UK
Dr Matthew Burrows, Dr David Dolan & Dr Vyki Wijeratne
Manchester Victoria Platform Staff
Showsec Ltd
Khizra Masjid Mosque
Nicholas Franklin
Beth Clarke

Other categories

Our judging panels chose one winner from the three finalists:

Blossoming Communities: Heather Stemp (runners up: Blackley in Bloom, Sow the City)
Bringing Communities Together: Shaneil Hodges (runners up: Mohammed Abubakar Sarwar, Lingua Franca World Community CIC)
Business in the Community: Mylo Kaye / Dreamr (runners up: Brian Hay / Cardinal Maritime Group, Hey Little Cupcake
Clean Neighbourhood: The Whalley Rangers (runners up: Longsight Residents Group, Cleaner Crumpsall)
Community Force: Yes Manchester (runners up: Abraham Moss Warriors at the Heart of the Community, Janet Chapman)
Community Project of the Year: Louis Beckett and the Miners Community Arts & Music Centre (runners up: The Cup & Cake Cafe and The Second-Hand Made Shop, Northmoor Community Association)
Creativity in the Community: On Top of the World Project (runners up: Nick Hamilton, Michael Bishop)
Neighbour of the Year: Sally Casey (runners up: Emma Bellfield, Josie Hughes)
Recycling Project of the Year: Manchester & Trafford School Uniform Swap (runners up: The Real Junk Food Project, The Whalley Rangers)
Volunteer of the Year (individual): Keleef Pearson (runners up: Mark Evans, Billy Hunter)
Volunteer of the Year (group): Grand Day Out (runners up: Manchester Tramway Museum Society, Wythenshawe Community Radio Volunteers)
Young Achiever of the Year: Wythenshawe Youth Forum (runners up: Daniel Rimes, James Plant)

Pride of Manchester 2017

And - once all of the judging had been completed, and the category winners decided upon, a separate judging panel met to choose their overall winner. The prestigious “Pride of Manchester Award 2017” was given to the Miners Community Arts & Music Centre. This north Manchester community hub has, over 7 years, risen from a derelict former working men’s club, due to the vision and sheer hard work of local artist, Louis Beckett, and a team of committed volunteers.

Many thanks to all of this year’s sponsors, without whose generous support the Be Proud Awards could not take place. Thanks are also due to everyone that nominated their community heroes.




Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?