Manchester City Council

The Council & democracy Our Constitution

The City Council's constitution describes the four basic elements through which the council operates: the Council, the Executive, Overview and Scrutiny, and the Committees.

The constitution sets out:

  • the rules and procedures to be followed by the Council and committees when conducting their business;
  • the decision making powers of the Executive and of Committees;
  • the  financial and contract regulations;
  • the scheme of delegation to chief officers;
  • the rights of the public to inspect reports and background documents;
  • codes of conduct for councillors and employees;
  • members' interests and members' allowances.

The Constitution is made up of nine parts:

  • Summary and Explanation
  • Articles of the Constitution
  • Responsibility Functions
  • Rules of Procedure
  • Financial Procedures
  • Codes and Protocol
  • Members' Allowances
  • Management Structure
  • The Association of Greater Manchester Authorities Constitution
Download the Constitution 1.9 MB PDF

If you require any help or advice on the Constitution please contact us at

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?