Homes and property Housing health and safety rating scheme

The Housing Health and Safety Ratings System (HHSRS) is a way of surveying properties to make sure they are safe to live in. We do inspections based on 29 hazards. For example:

  • Fire hazards, we will check for smoke alarms, fire doors, emergency lighting and so on
  • Carbon monoxide hazards, we will check the boiler, for carbon monoxide detectors and so on

The level of risk for each hazard is calculated. If there's a high or significant level of risk, by law, we must serve an enforcement notice or order. 

We must carry out a HHSRS inspection if:

  • there has been a complaint
  • we are reviewing housing conditions as part of our duty

We also check to make sure the property meets legal requirements like pests problems, management standards and licences.

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?

Fields marked * cannot be left blank

Feedback submitted to us on this form is monitored but you won’t receive a reply. In an emergency, visit our emergency contact details page. Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.