The Council and democracy Register to vote: qualifying foreign citizens

To qualify, Commonwealth citizens must be resident in the UK and either have leave to remain in the UK or not require such leave. Commonwealth citizens include those of British Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories.

List of Commonwealth Countries
Antigua and Barbuda Kenya Samoa
Australia Kiribati Seychelles
The Bahamas Lesotho Sierra Leone
Bangladesh Malawi Singapore
Barbados Malaysia Solomon Islands
Belize Maldives South Africa
Botswana Malta Sri Lanka
Brunei Darussalam Mauritius Swaziland
Cameroon Mozambique United Republic of Tanzania
Canada Namibia Tonga
Cyprus Nauru Trinidad & Tobago
Dominica New Zealand Tuvalu
Fiji Islands Nigeria Uganda
The Gambia Pakistan United Kingdom
Ghana Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Grenada Rwanda Zambia
Guyana St Kitts & Nevis Zimbabwe
India St Lucia
Jamaica St Vincent & The Grenadines

Citizens of Commonwealth countries that have been suspended from the Commonwealth retain their voting rights. Their voting rights would only be affected if their country was also deleted from the list of Commonwealth countries in the British Nationality Act 1981 through an Act of the UK Parliament.

British Overseas Territories
Anguilla Montserrat
Bermuda Pitcairn Island
British Antarctic Territory St Helena
British Indian Ocean Territory St Helena Dependencies - (Ascension Island, Tristan da Cunha)
British Virgin Islands South Georgia and the South Islands
Cayman Islands Turks and Caicos Islands
Falkland Islands

Hong Kong - Only former residents of Hong Kong who hold a British Dependent Territories, British nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport qualify for registration.

British Crown Dependencies
Channel Islands
Isle of Man

The following European Union countries are entitled to go on the Full Electoral Register, but are only eligible to vote in Local Elections. Please see below the table for the exceptions to this rule.

List of Eligible European Union Countries
Austria Latvia
Belgium Lithuania
Bulgaria Luxemburg
Croatia Malta 2
Cyprus 2 Netherlands
Czech Republic Poland
Denmark Portugal
Estonia Republic of Ireland 1
Finland Romania
France Slovakia
Germany Slovenia
Greece Spain
Hungary Sweden
Italy United Kingdom 1

1 - Citizens of the UK and the republic of Ireland are eligible to be registered to vote in ALL elections held in the UK.

2 - Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in ALL elections held in the UK.

Was this page helpful?

Fields marked * cannot be left blank

Feedback submitted to us on this form is monitored but you won’t receive a reply. In an emergency, visit our emergency contact details page. Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.